Our work


The Klaus J. Jacobs Awards were established in 2009 to honor the commitment of the Jacobs Foundation’s founder to research, practice, and scientific progress in child learning and education.

Section Image

The Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize

The prize acknowledges exceptional researchers whose work can be regarded as key to progress in the field, in any scholarly discipline that is aimed at improving the learning, development, and living conditions of children and youth. The prize is endowed with CHF 1 million to support the research of the prize recipient. The jury consists of a select group of internationally renowned scientists from a range of disciplines. The next call will open in January 2025.

2022 Best Practice Prize winners

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prizes

The prizes acknowledge outstanding commitment from institutions or individuals in implementing evidence-based solutions for child learning and education. The Best Practice Prizes were initially awarded annually until 2018, and since then, they have been presented every two years. Each of the up to three prize recipients receives CHF 200,000 in unrestricted funding. Up to ten prize finalists receive support for activities with the Foundation to promote evidence-based best practice in advancing child learning and education. ​The Best Practice Prize jury consists of the Jacobs Foundation Board of Trustees. Applications are now open.